Skip to main content

Rajko Grlić’s The Constitution competing for European Film Award

The executive board of the European Film Academy, with President Agnieszka Holland (film director, Poland), has announced its selection of the fifty-one best European films, from 31 countries, in 2017. The selection includes Rajko Grlić’s award-winning film The Constitution. Selected films automatically compete for a 30th European Film Academy Award nomination.

The list of candidates also includes the latest films by renowned directors such as Michael Haneke (Happy End), Andrey Zvyagintsev (Loveless), Andrzej Wajda (Afterimage), Claire Denis (Bright Sunshine In), and many others.

The Constitution is produced by Interfilm (Zagreb), HRT Croatian Radio Television, In Film (Prague), Revolution (Skopje), Sever&Sever (Ljubljana), and Film&Music Entertainment (London). The film is co-financed by the Croatian Audiovisual Centre, Eurimages, Czech Film Fund, Film Agency of the Republic of Macedonia, and Film Centre Slovenia, with support from the European Union’s Creative Europe – MEDIA.

This ‘love story about hate, inspired by a real country’, had its world premiere at the 40th Montreal International Film Festival where it won the main award, the ‘Grand Prize of the Americas.’ A successful tour at numerous international festivals, including Tallinn, India, Sofia, Milan and Shanghai, followed, and at this year’s Pula Film Festival The Constitution won Golden Arenas for Best Screenplay (Rajko Grlić and Ante Tomić), Best Male (Nebojša Glogovac), Best Supporting Male (Dejan Aćimović), Best Cinematographer (Branko Linta) and the Fedeora Prize for Best Croatian Feature Film.

The screenplay is written by Ante Tomić and Rajko Grlić, the cinematographer is Branko Linta, music is by Duke Bojadziev, the art director is Željka Burić, the costume designer is Leo Kulaš, the editor is Andrija Zafranović, the make-up artist is Ana Bulajić Črček, the sound engineer is Nenad Vukadinović, and the sound designer is Srdjan Kurpjel The producer is Ivan Maloča, and the film stars Serbian actor Nebojša Glogovac, with supporting cast including Ksenija Marinković, Dejan Aćimović and Božidar Smiljanić.

The film is about four people who live in the same building and avoid each other because of differences in material status, sexual orientation, nationality and faith. And they would probably never speak to each other had an accident not forced them to become dependent on one another. Slowly and painfully, they begin to open up to each other and see one another as human beings.

The European Film Awards mark the biggest accomplishments in European cinematography awarding prizes for best film, best director, best actor and actress, as well as best screenplay based on European Film Academy member votes. In the following weeks, more than three thousand members will cast their ballots for nominees in the five abovementioned categories, while all films on the selection list have a chance to win awards in the categories of cinematography, editing, art direction, costumes, music, and sound engineering. A special seven-member jury will choose the winners in the aforementioned categories without previous nomination. Nominated films will be announced on November 4th at the Seville Film Festival, while winners will be announced this year on December 9th in Berlin. For more information please follow this link

This website uses cookies for the purpose of analysing visitor statistics. No visitor personal data is collected. By using this website you agree to its terms of use.